top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureelliekrieldaly

My time filming with Discovery Catering

Updated: May 1, 2020



Discovery Catering are a co-produced social enterprise in Canterbury, where people with and without learning disabilities come together to gain skills in cooking and to run a monthly pop up cafe. I was lucky enough to gain access to the project early on within my filming and had an intention to create a film focusing on the day to day interactions I witnessed there. I visited the site on various occasions were I was welcomed warmly by everyone. I spent some time observing the everyday processes within the kitchen and we discussed the intentions of the film together. I had one day of filming in the kitchen before the British government forced all social venues to close down due to the corona virus pandemic. This really threw a spanner in the works in terms of the direction that my film went on to take. However, my film starts of with the footage that I took during my day filming at Discovery catering as this was a key part of my journey within the film-making process and really what informed my original intentions for the film.


Discovery catering run their Monthly cafe on a Tuesday afternoon in Westgate hall Canterbury. Please check their Facebook site for more details and drop by after this lock down is over for a healthy vegan lunch !


Contact :


















25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page