top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureelliekrieldaly

The symbolic Camera

Updated: Apr 30, 2020


The construction of my symbolic camera was part of the overall film making process. It allowed me to reflect upon the role of the camera within my research and about the impact of visual methodology within Anthropology. It also was a time for me to reflect on my own relationship with the camera as an anthropology student. After several failed attempts at a cardboard construction, I began to play around with the modelling clay with no initial design. The camera was formed quite organically, elements such as the eye within the lens were created without much conscious thought. After I had finished modelling my camera, I used this as an opportunity to reflect on its representation. I felt that the the malleability of the clay may reflect the way in which anthropologists manipulate ethnographic methodology within the field allowing them to adapt and stay versatile. I also realized that the interaction between the camera, subject and the anthropologist is also a social phenomenon in itself, and creation of this camera also represents the creation of the social experience visual methodology records. This links to the fact that the symbolic camera acts like the anthropologists third eye, exploring and creating situations that could not be interpreted without visual methodology.


The miniature size of my symbolic camera reflects partly my aim to capture social situations without intruding too heavily. I wanted the camera to be a tool and part of a much broader ethnographic processes rather then the most dominating factor. I also think many of us are naturally drawn to miniature things and I like the way that fine details enable us to focus and act with care, which is something that anthropologists have to do for example within culturalist approaches like thick description. I think there is also an element of control that we feel we have over miniature things and I like to link this back to the way in which anthropologists have to use visual methodology as as means to exploring broad social realities and use holistic methodology to come up with explanations .

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page